It was the Beginning of the End

*Wordcount: 364 words.

I couldn’t believe it. I was so close. I had gotten through the outer courtyard undetected and slipped through into the main complex. This wasn’t going to be as easy though, and I would probably have to spill some blood soon. I have to keep pushing forward, after all, it was the beginning of the end.

I was employed by a shadowy organisation they never told me the name, just showed me that they had the cash they were offering. I have a ‘don’t ask, don’t tell’ policy, so that worked out well. I’m getting paid more for this job than I’ve ever been paid before: ten-million dollars! They gave me half of the money up front, the rest when the job was done. As for the job, it seemed simple enough: break in, get to the core computer and steal all of their data, then destroy their drive. Simple.

I started making my way down the hallway, sticking to the shadows where I could. It wasn’t easy considering that the walls were glaringly white and the lights were blindingly bright, slicing through the darkness around them. Slicing through my cover. I pushed further still, through the maze of identical corridors. No sign of any guards, which only helps to put me on edge; surely I would have encountered at least one? As I went door into the twisting maze of light I started getting disorientated and dizzy, I never liked light.

I was getting about ready to give up, just find my way back to the shadows and vanish. But then I saw it: a bright sign above a closed door that put my search to an end. The door was guarded by two men in full body armour. Simple. I dispatched of them quickly and proceeded into the room. I got to work down loading everything while keeping an eye out for more guards. Once it was done I placed the explosives and headed for a nearby exit.

I was miles away when the bomb went off, on my way to collect the rest of my payment. I was just happy to be out of the light, cradled by shadows once more.

Leave a Reply

