Greener on the Other Side

*Wordcount: 418 words

The grass is greener on the other side, that’s what they say. In my case, it’s true. I live in a small house, on my own, and never really cared for my garden. Yellows and browns suffused my garden day after day, and by the time I cared, it was too late. Alright, that was a minor lie, I admit.
I never cared, but my point stands. My neighbour, on the other hand, has a wonderful garden. Or, at least, very green grass.
I set my goals on reaching that grass, one day.
Today.

Now, it’s not as easy a task as you might think so quit judgin’. He’s crazy about ‘protection’ and ‘security’ (buzz words used by the mountebank security companies to score our hard-earned bucks), and has electric fencing on top of an unreasonably tall, solid, wall. Plus a ‘state-of-the-art’ security system, alarms and the like.
And I really would prefer to get in, have my full, and leave without him catching me. That lunatic might even call the cops!
However, I do have a plan.

I haven’t quite figured it out yet, though. Really, plans work better if you make them up in the moment. Someone said that, look it up.
Wait, may have been my pops…
Ah well, no matter. I had a ladder, and lots of determination. Plus some other things that I don’t feel like listing (making it even more convenient for the plo-errm plan).
As I stood in front of our joint wall (the insanely tall one) I felt a chill of excitement run down my spine.
It was time.

My plan really just needed the very tall ladder, and once I was on top I positioned myself carefully. Getting over the electric fence would be dangerous, but a skilled something like myself could get it done!
I balanced myself on top of the ladder…
And leapt!

The pain was blinding, and for a few minutes I had no idea what had happened. My neighbour was home, apparently, and came out shaking fists and shouting angrily. He didn’t call the police, thankfully, but he also paid no attention to my clearly broken leg. He dragged me through his house, and tossed me outside, where I could safely limp home and then get an ambulance.

It wasn’t all a loss though, as I did learn a valuable lesson. The grass may be greener on the other side, this is correct, but it may also be concrete and green paint.
Hard, painful concrete.

Leave a Reply

